Home > Adblue

Adblue

Adblue® is now essential

What is AdBlue®? 

All new vehicles must comply with Euro 6c standards in order to be registered.

This is a standard which lowers the levels of certain pollutants, especially nitrogen oxides (NOx) and, above all, nitrogen dioxide. Nitrogen dioxide, which previous standards capped relatively little, has been on the rise in recent years given the increasingly higher engine temperatures recorded in order to improve their performance. The Euro 6 standard therefore signals a big step forward: it halves the maximum authorised emissions of these gases. In order to meet this standard, manufacturers fit filters to their engines.

In order to reduce the emissions of pollutants as set out by the Euro 6c standard, diesel engines fitted with the Selective Catalytic Reduction (SCR) system require the addition of AdBlue® solution.

The goal of this standard is to meet nitrogen oxide emission limits set at 80mg/km.

AdBlue® is a non-toxic, hydrosoluble liquid designed to treat exhaust gases. It is made up of 32.5% urea and 67.5% demineralised water. It is not dangerous to handle, so you can refill it using a container (as with windscreen washer fluid).

 

How does it work?

Using it enables 85% of pollutants (NOx) to be reprocessed.

The capacity of the AdBlue® tank provides sufficient levels between each service. However, it is possible for the tank to run empty before the service date. In this case, the liquid needs to be refilled.

 

Where can it be purchased?

To facilitate the addition of AdBlue® when necessary, we recommend that you go to a service station (AdBlue® is available in canisters of 5 litres or more in the shop or via the AdBlue® dispensing nozzle if the service station has this facility).

Make sure you add AdBlue® to your vehicle's AdBlue® tank using the filler cap provided (this is usually found next to the fuel tank filler cap).

 

What happens if AdBlue® is not refilled?

The vehicle may lose power and operate in reduced functionality mode. With some models, the vehicle simply will not start.

Home > Adblue

Adblue

Le consommable Adblue® est désormais indispensable

Qu’est-ce que l’AdBlue® ? 

Tout véhicule neuf doit être conforme aux normes Euro 6c pour pouvoir être immatriculé.
C'est une norme qui réduit et abaisse le niveau de certains gaz polluants,  en particulier les oxydes d'azote NOx et surtout le dioxyde d'azote. Ce dioxyde d'azote, que les précédentes normes plafonnaient assez peu, est en augmentation ces dernières années compte tenu des températures de plus en plus élevées enregistrées sur les moteurs pour en favoriser leur rendement. La norme Euro 6 amène donc un gros progrès : elle divise par 2 les rejets maximaux autorisés de ces gaz. Pour y répondre, les constructeurs équipent leurs moteurs de filtres.  

Afin de réduire l’émission des gaz polluants imposée par la norme Euro 6c, les moteurs diesel équipés du système SCR (Réduction Catalytique Sélective) nécessitent l’ajout de la solution AdBlue®. L'objectif de cette norme est d’atteindre les limites d’émissions d’oxyde d’azote imposées à 80 mg/km.

L’AdBlue® est un liquide hydrosoluble non toxique destiné à traiter les gaz d’échappement. Il est composé de 32,5 %  d’urée et de 67,5 %  d’eau déminéralisée. Sa manipulation n’est pas dangereuse, il est donc possible d’en faire le plein avec un bidon (comme pour le lave-glace).

 

Comment ça marche ?

Son utilisation permet de transformer 85% des polluants (NOx).
La capacité du réservoir d’AdBlue® assure un niveau d’autonomie nécessaire entre chaque révision. Il arrive néanmoins que le réservoir se vide avant l’échéance de la révision. Il est donc nécessaire de procéder à l’appoint de liquide.

 

Où s’en procurer ?

Afin de faciliter l’appoint d’AdBlue®, quand celui-ci est nécessaire, nous vous recommandons de vous rendre en station-service carburant, en grande surface ou chez une accessoiriste automobile.
Veillez à alimenter votre véhicule d’AdBlue® via la trappe AdBlue® conçue à cet effet (généralement à côté de la trappe à carburant).

 

Que se passe-t-il si le plein d’AdBlue® n’est pas fait ?

Le véhicule peut subir une perte de puissance et passer en mode dégradé. Sur certains modèles, le véhicule ne démarre tout simplement pas.